1st amendment

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-03-2015, 06:08 PM
1st amendment
Found out something interesting. The first ammendment states that only congress will not make any laws regarding religion. Theoretically states are allowed to do what they want regarding religious laws. Of course I have very little knowledge of American law since I am a Canadian, so I don't know what supreme court or amendments have since changed that.

I'm homophobic in the same way that I'm arachnophobic. I'm not scared of gay people but I'm going to scream if I find one in my bath.

I'm. Also homophobic in the same way I'm arachnophobic. I'm scared of spiders but I'd still fuck'em.
- my friend Marc
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
27-03-2015, 07:30 PM
RE: 1st amendment
I'm not sure but I think their federal law trumps state law.
27-03-2015, 07:46 PM
The constitution would take presidence over a state constitution, so a state would be overridden if they violated the federal constitution.

Gods derive their power from post-hoc rationalizations. -The Inquisition

Using the supernatural to explain events in your life is a failure of the intellect to comprehend the world around you. -The Inquisition
27-03-2015, 07:47 PM
SCOTUS has interpreted the 1st Amendment in light of the 14th Amendment to apply to all citizens, therefore to all the states.
The states may not limit rights granted under the Constitution so may not establish a religion or limit the free exercise thereof.

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 2 users Like Chas's post
27-03-2015, 10:39 PM
While I'm sure it has been interpreted as such. The amendment does not guarantee freedom of speech and religion, it just says that congress will make no laws restricting these items. And it makes sense since various states had anti catholic laws.