A need to learn

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-03-2013, 10:59 AM
A need to learn
I have recently moved to Abu Dhabi, which I'm sure you're all aware is predominately islamic. Being sort of new to the whole caring-about-theists thing I don't really have many tools in my head to debate against theists with. It has a tendency to come out like "Oh I'm not really an expert but I read here that something about this and it makes this and upside down inside out over easy and backwards" and that's not really an effective way to debate anybody. So I've been researching a lot on the positions of.. atheism, I guess? It's kinda weird to say that, but it is also kind of weird to say science? Whatever.

Anyway, just about ALL of the resources I've found have focused PURELY on anti-Christian debating, because certainly, in America, Christianity is what is attempting to position itself into Governmental power again. But here in the UAE, a lot of the biblical information I have becomes useless. And it has recently come to the attention of one of the locals I work with that I am not a believer.

Judging by our conversations, I get the feeling that he is going to try "educating" me about Islam. Now he is a pretty cool guy and all, but I refuse to look like a fool (and represent us all as such) when he starts. So I have taken to reading the Qur'an. But it isn't enough.

I would like assistance in where to go and what to read, etc. I've already found refutes for the claims that Islam claimed the world was a sphere before science found out it was, and that humans had long since known about the water cycle (detailed in the Qur'an) before Islam was formed. But this is nowhere near enough "ammunition" to hold a reasonable debate with someone. So I look to you for assistance. I am sure not everyone here has the atheist islamaboner that I have come across during my net travels, and that you can help me gather more information about the topic.