A theory for the origin of Christianity

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
12-06-2011, 04:13 AM
A theory for the origin of Christianity
Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum. I've been studying the history of Christianity for many years and would like to contribute some ideas and learn from people's responses. I would value your opinions on the following theory about the origin of Christianity...
"Was Christianity a Roman Government Plot?
There is a fascinating angle to consider, which I suggest as an interesting hypothetical possibility. It is possible that Paul’s philosophy may have had its origin in the Roman government. The fact that belief in the divinity of Jesus arose simultaneously in many diverse areas of the empire a number of decades after his death suggests to me that it could have originated from a central source, which definitely wasn’t Nazarene. The inspiration for such a plan would have been to undermine the power of Judaism because the religion itself was the inspiration for fanatics who threatened the stability of the Roman Empire.

Jewish zealot extremists promoted the subversive idea that a king of their race would one day soon govern the world on behalf of God and in place of Caesar. Some gentiles were converting to Judaism. The government must have been worried. If they couldn’t subdue the Jews it would have set a dangerous precedent for other races to revolt. They needed to keep control over the valuable trade routes to Asia and Egypt. They must have been thoroughly frustrated at having to use force to suppress Jewish extremists, as it was disruptive, expensive and taxing on the army. There were very legitimate reasons for Roman animosity toward the Jews. Roman soldiers decimated the Temple in 70 CE when there was no real military need to do so.