AA - Atheists and Alcoholism

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-03-2013, 07:03 PM
AA - Atheists and Alcoholism
Hi everyone!

I've looked through the TTA forums and haven't seen any sections dedicated to alcoholism, alcoholics anonymous, or recovery from alcoholism. Or to any other substances, for that matter.

General summary of why I am starting this thread:
As I type this, I'm envisioning a little section of the TTA forums where people can connect with other atheists who have had similar problems. I hope that I can find some people to share stories with, as well as offer/receive advice and encouragement. I doubt I'm the only atheist with substance problems that is tired of religion being present no matter where you turn for help. I'd also like to hear people's thoughts on how religious people and institutions are affecting the treatment programs available to addicts.

I am a total newbie to online forums, but as far as I can tell a good first poster for a thread will include some compelling seed material. So I am throwing myself out there in the hopes that you will find something of value, and perhaps want to respond or contribute yourself. I've got two stories to tell, both of which are fairly long. Here are the summaries of each so that you can decide whether or not you want to read them.

1. My first story is of my own problems regarding addiction. I feel that other issues in my life that are not directly related to addiction help place my alcoholism in proper perspective, so I've included them as well. Many people with drug/alcohol problems find the stories of other addicts to be helpful in their own recovery efforts, so here is my own for what it's worth.