Action cures fear

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-01-2016, 11:14 AM
Action cures fear
Does action cure fear? What do you think?

I've believed in this mindset the last couple of years when approaching something that terrifies me. This could range from going to the grocery store during the first of the month or driving on a busy interstate.

I graduated from high school in 2009 and went right on to college in the fall of that year. At the time, I'd been in a relationship with my first love for over a year. Young love. Things began going south at that time. She was about two years younger than me, and I was the first ever person she'd been in a relationship with. Her immaturity and latent jealousy became an issue. I had zero idea on how to handle it at the time. That relationship consumed my life, I neglected my schoolwork and stopped going to all my classes, sans one (my 8am Tuesday/Thursday English class). In 2010, I didn't resume going to college. She eventually (perhaps inevitably) cheated on me.

I spent 2010-2013 telling myself all the time, "Hey, bro. Go back to college." I was mentally and emotionally a wreck at the time. I stayed depressed over her for far too long (unhealthy mentalities ran rampant in my head). I was suspended in the prison of my mind thanks to perpetual laziness and procrastination. I was too scared to even go to the college to sign up. I had mild social anxiety brought on by practically being a hermit. I literally accomplished nothing in my life between 2010 to 2013. They were wasted years in every sense. I made a "pact" with myself in June 2013 that I'd return to college in 2014. And I did.