All scientific studies regarding prayer are fatally flawed

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-03-2013, 03:26 AM
All scientific studies regarding prayer are fatally flawed
I often hear atheist claim that scientific studies of prayer show that it doesn't work. I cringe that people actually put faith in studies which are obviously fatally flawed. How do you test God? How do you control that variable?

Suppose I am a researcher looking for evidence for the "power of prayer". I ask my participants to pray for a certain group of heart patients. Does God actually consider those prayers to be prayers or merely elements in a "scientific" study? Maybe God has decided he will not be tested and ignores those prayers or maybe he decides to apply the "graces" from those "prayers" to people not under the scrutiny of the researcher.

There is a reason researchers will often keep the true purpose of a study away from the test subjects....they don't want the study to influence the actions of thier subjects. With God that is impossible to do. A researcher studying the power of prayer has to hope that his subject, God, will cooperate in the study...he can't trick God into cooperating.

Scientific studies of prayer are bad science.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2013, 03:31 AM
RE: All scientific studies regarding prayer are fatally flawed
How about you finish up on your last epic failure of a thread before starting another. Did Bucky make you cry and run off?

2.5 billion seconds total
1.67 billion seconds conscious

[+] 2 users Like Adenosis's post
01-03-2013, 03:35 AM (This post was last modified: 01-03-2013 03:44 AM by EvolutionKills.)
Simple, it shows that intercessory prayer has no observable effect. This can lead to a number of conclusions.

1 - God does not exist.
2 - God does exist, but is capricious.
3 - God does exist, but doesn't care enough to intervene.
4 - God does exist, but does not answer prayer.