An Atheist in Church

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-05-2014, 07:26 AM
An Atheist in Church
I feel like a hypocrite.

My name is Greg. I am a pianist. I have been a music lover for my whole life, and a piano player for twelve years. I want nothing more than to make music my future career path.

I am also an atheist. And this presents a bit of a problem...

Anyone who enters the music world will notice that the best musical employers are the church. It's not even comparable. Easily 80% of my work is given by churches. I play Sunday services. I write hymns. I play Christian weddings.

And it makes me feel terrible.

I am an atheist, and yet I am supporting this institution that I vehemently believe should not exist any more. And yet, I don't know what to do. The church is currently the best source of income I can find! Agh!

So here is my question: Is what I am doing wrong? And if the church discovers I am an atheist and rejects me, what then? I honestly need help with this, because I feel my self-respect and career are on the line. I need any advice you can give.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like SkepticPianist's post
26-05-2014, 07:32 AM (This post was last modified: 26-05-2014 07:38 AM by DLJ.)
RE: An Atheist in Church
My friend, you're not the first and you won't be the last.

In a few decades time, you'll be on one of those YouTube (or the future equivalent of) montages titled something like "I betcha didn't know..."

Thumbsup

Rumour has it... Verdi, Berlioz and Brahms.

[+] 4 users Like DLJ's post
26-05-2014, 07:33 AM
My sister is also a musician and a singer. She is also an atheist.

Music isn't her profession but is her passion. To be able to participate, she sings with a church chorale in the Chicago area.

I wouldn't stress it too much.

See here they are the bruises some were self-inflicted and some showed up along the way. - JF
[+] 4 users Like Anjele's post
26-05-2014, 07:42 AM