An atheist psycho-neuroscience students take on religion.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-05-2010, 05:15 PM

An atheist psycho-neuroscience students take on religion.
Hello

I'm studying for my masters in Psychological Neurscience.
I'm also an atheist, and I'm new to this forum.
I'm also going to become the founder of the Norwegian National Atheist Foundation (This sounds better in Norwegian).

In cognitive studies of behaviour and thought patterns there are some differantial dispositions occuring (measurable) aswell in the ways of how deeply religious or deeply skeptical people think. This is correlation, and disposition, so when I say there's a difference, it doesn't mean every single person belonging to that group, this is science, we see some difference in the total of observable stimuli withing a populous.

Anyhow.

I've been thinking about something while reading and participating in a neurological study of eye-hand placement co-ordination and learned patterns.

What if, religion, which I believe occured through evolution, helping people explain the unexplainable to stop wasting time with novel tasks such as being skeptic and rather reproduce and gather food.

If the cognitive patterns observable from non-skeptic people are basically an adaptation to a pre-scientific society (like many fat people are adapted to a "pre"-carbohydrate society), and their patterns of cognition are unchangable except through natural selection. Seeing as the earlier strong social pressures to conform to religion might've made skepticism to religion lie as a dormant trait, and our now secular culture has made this trait mushroom in correspondance with societies accepted expression of said trait.