Another abortion question!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-04-2014, 08:10 AM
Another abortion question!
Dear TTA members, I am hoping to use your collective intelligence for this question.

I am a very pro-choice/ womens-rights individual. Now, I was posed with this question--

Abortion is legal and is not considered murder by law, however, the Unborn Victims of Violence Act states that a pregnant woman that is killed and her unborn child is also killed, this could result in a double homicide charge. This Act gives person-hood to a fetus in essence.

So....my anti-choice acquaintances can't wrap their heads around this. My response was that I have not seen a case where the person was charged with double homicide where the fetus wasn't past the age of viability, and also, the woman had made the CHOICE to keep the baby, and the killer took that away from her. Roe v Wade even has language that protects fetuses that are past the age of viability.

So, my friends, what would your reply be to this? Hopefully this isn't too garbled..I only had 3 minutes to write this before my next class came in!
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
04-04-2014, 08:17 AM
RE: Another abortion question!
It is the woman's choice whether or not to keep the baby; if someone else makes that decision for her by killing it, then yes it is murder.

Atir aissom atir imon
[+] 3 users Like Im_Ryan's post
04-04-2014, 08:18 AM
(04-04-2014 08:10 AM)jaguar3030 Wrote:  Dear TTA members, I am hoping to use your collective intelligence for this question.

I am a very pro-choice/ womens-rights individual. Now, I was posed with this question--

Abortion is legal and is not considered murder by law, however, the Unborn Victims of Violence Act states that a pregnant woman that is killed and her unborn child is also killed, this could result in a double homicide charge. This Act gives person-hood to a fetus in essence.