Another argument why Nazi-germany wasnt particularly atheist

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
03-10-2017, 01:30 AM
Another argument why Nazi-germany wasnt particularly atheist
Well,

today, its July, 4th here in Germany Big Grin
So, yay, Germany! [Image: deutschlfahne8.gif]

Part of the show are TV channels running our history all day long. I am watching WWII at the moment and the oath of the german soldiers was mentioned.
So i went and googled a bit.....looks like evey single branch of officials who had to swear, had to swear "by god"! Interesting isnt it?
So, next time a theist argues that nazi germany was atheist, you may ask them why everybody had to swear "by god", even the SS!

Hitler Oath

Wehrmacht Wrote:I swear to God this sacred oath that to the Leader of the German Empire and people, Adolf Hitler, supreme commander of the armed forces, I shall render unconditional obedience and that as a brave soldier I shall at all times be prepared to give my life for this oath.

civil servants Wrote:I swear: I will be faithful and obedient to the leader of the German Empire and people, Adolf Hitler, to observe the law, and to conscientiously fulfill my official duties, so help me God.

SS Wrote:Wie lautet Dein Eid?“ – „Ich schwöre Dir, Adolf Hitler, als Führer und Kanzler des Deutschen Reiches Treue und Tapferkeit. Wir geloben Dir und den von Dir bestimmten Vorgesetzten Gehorsam bis in den Tod. So wahr mir Gott helfe!

„Also glaubst Du an einen Gott?“ – „Ja, ich glaube an einen Herrgott.“

„Was hältst Du von einem Menschen, der nicht an einen Gott glaubt?“

Die Antwort lautet: „Ich halte ihn für überheblich, größenwahnsinnig und dumm; er ist nicht für uns geeignet.

Translation:
"What is your oath?"
"I swear to you, Adolf Hitler, as leader and chancellor of the German Reich loyalty and bravery. We vow obedience to death to you and to the leaders determined by you. So help me god "
"So you do believe in a god" -"Yes, i believe in a lord"