Antique store buys

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Antique store buys
As a few of you may know, I currently live in Taipei, Taiwan where I am studying Chinese. I've been visiting antique stores/districts in the area and have come across some really neat pieces. I just wanted to share them.

This is a 14” x 26.5” x 5.75” hand carved wooden statue of the Daoist weather deities Sire Thunder (Leigong, 雷公) and the Mother of lightning (Dianmu, 電母). It is carved from a single log. Sire Thunder is an old god stretching back to the Han Dynasty (206 BCE - 220 CE). Past depictions include a human, an ape, and a half-snake, but his depictions from the Tang Dynasty (618-907) onward portray him as a bird man. This avian form is based on the bird god Garuda who arrived with Esoteric Buddhism during this time. The weather god is in charge of producing rain, mainly by subjugating rain dragons. He creates lighting by striking a chisel with a hammer. I know very little about the history of the Mother of Lighting. She produces lighting with mirrors.

Here is a black and white image for better details.

[Image: EagQ7a.png]

This is a hand worked Tibetan metal wall hanging depicting the noted 8th-century Indian Buddhist saint Rinpoche Padmasambhava. He sits on a "gate of glory" or "enlightenment torana", a throne based on ancient South Asian architecture. The throne is surrounded by all sorts of real and mythical creatures. The apex is crowned by Garuda eating serpents (I traced the origin of this motif in my paper here). The bottom is a "Face of Glory", a symbol of greed, which is always eating. The reverse features the Tibetan script for the three symbol mantra associated with the Rinpoche's worship, Om Am Hum. It’s 17” x 18” x 3”. The piece is hollow but still pretty heavy.

[Image: 57MOeZ.jpg]

[Image: u7hHvj.png]

[Image: G7aQO4.jpg]

[Image: BZ4a6o.jpg]