Any Musical/Poetic Atheists Here?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-06-2013, 10:15 PM (This post was last modified: 28-06-2013 10:25 PM by Golbez.)
Any Musical/Poetic Atheists Here?
So I don't consider myself overly poetic, but I have penned several tens of poems, though none of them terribly special. Enough that I have a basic understanding and sense of poetry.

On the other hand, I've played guitar for over 15 years. And so I'm a better musician than a poet. But I'm interested in combining the two, for the cause of atheism. And if there are interested takers, I'd prefer a collaborative effort.

What I first have in mind (though I'm open to any suggestions), is that we write a poem or 10, modeled after the arguments for atheism or against religion. As an example, I started one by lifting a speech from Sam Harris:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HthQ6a7FZeA

And so, at first, it started by simply me writing up a transcript of the passage. And then I kind of rephrased some lines and words to make it more lyrical. So at present (unfinished), it looks something like this:

Impotent or Evil

Every year, nine million children die before age five.
That's 24,000 children each day who won't survive.
Or a thousand children each hour, and about 17 a minute.
A few children likely will have died in terror and agony
by the end of this line, or some point within it.

Think of their religious parents, praying in this moment
Asking god for their children to be spared of this torment.
And their prayers will go unanswered.
More children fall to an unstoppable cancer.

[Chorus]
What god is it who would allow
A child to suffer this way? A parent to grieve such pain?
It must be one who cannot help or cares not to.
A god who commands either impotent or evil rule.

Worse than that, so many of them are going to hell.
Because they were so foolishly born somewhere else.
Born to a different culture who prayed to the wrong god.
Through no fault of their own, sent to Satan's plot.