Any heathen drummers out there?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-02-2014, 09:29 PM
Any heathen drummers out there?
I'm a 40-something dude who for my socially required mid-life crisis told my wife it was either a convertible or a drum set.

...so, after a few months of drum lessons, I'm really starting to dig it. Working rudiments is pretty fun, but it really gets rockin' after you start to pick up enough that you can keep up with a few songs (so far I can somewhat keep up with Give Life Back to Music/Daft Punk, Back in Black/ACDC and Dancing Queen/ABBA).

Any other newly minted drummers out there to share tips&tricks? What kinds of sticks do you have/like/use? I have made a conscious effort to try out various kinds... Mostly Vic Firth (7A, X5A, 3A), but also a pair of Vater (5A) and some cheapo First Act 5B (before I knew if I even would like it). So since I'm just starting out I'm very green, but starting to work the slide technique on the bass pedal too, and some limb independence exercises. My drum teacher, on the first lesson, said "Drumming is basically all about this (pats his head with one and and makes a circle on his belly with the other hand)". Thumbsup

I have a set of Alesis DM8 Pro drums - yeah they're not acoustic so while they're "close", they're not really there feel-wise, but they're pretty quiet, so it keeps the wife happy. Even better, my 5 y/o daughter loves banging around on them too!

Blink <--- The face the drummer makes when the guitarist tells him/her to slow down!

Swede, atheist, dad, amateur astronomer, aspiring drummer...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes MickO's post
01-02-2014, 09:37 PM
RE: Any heathen drummers out there?
(01-02-2014 09:29 PM)MickO Wrote:  Blink <--- The face the drummer makes when the guitarist tells him/her to slow down!