Anyone Interested In Critiquing My Book?

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 3 Average
24-06-2011, 09:49 PM
Anyone Interested In Critiquing My Book?
Hallo forum members.

I'm Mark, I've been dabbling in this forum for a number of weeks now and I'm very impressed with the standard of comments and, generally speaking, the mutual respect members show each other.

I am a first time author. I have written a book over the last 5-6 years on the Bible, the origins of Christianity and therefore the legitimacy of Christianity in today's world. It is currently going through the first round of copy editing, and I hope it will be published in 4-5 months. I estimate I have put 10,000 hours of work into it. I believe I have some fascinating history to discuss and some fascinating conclusions. I am not a history or philosophy academic (I am, in fact, a doctor of medicine), but hope that very fact may make my writings fresh and appealing.

My plan is to bit by bit present it to you and ask for your feedback. Why should you help me? Well, I believe most of us are here to help share knowledge with our fellow men and ultimately therefore do our bit to make the world a better place. It is possible that the book may fill a niche in the market and create a bit of a stir. Please understand I have no delusions that I can change the world, but to try to do so may just help some people, and the journey can give us great satisfaction too. Most of us on this forum are dismayed at the damage Christianity sometimes causes on a community and personal level, and this book may help get our ideas out there. Also I believe the history I present is really interesting.

Why do I need your input? Well, I'm just one person, and one person's ideas are inferior to those of a community of intelligent and informed commentators. I will be pleased with constructive criticism and also will learn from your input about parts that "work". I'll only get one shot at this, so I want to get it as good as possible.