Apologetics with a believing wife

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-11-2014, 09:35 AM
Apologetics with a believing wife
My wife and I are reading "I don't Have Enough Faith to be and Atheist" right now. She has never read any apologetics of any kind so many of the ideas that they are talking about (i.e. Cosmological argument, etc.) are completely new to her. I am a scientist (and atheist). Science is what I do for a living, she has no scientific background of any kind. When we discuss what the book says, I share the problems that we all know of as well as my own ideas. I try to be as respectful as possible but she gets offended every time I say something that doesn't agree with Turek and Geissler (which is much of the time). Last night we were talking about it and I asked her why she felt attacked. Her response was that she really didn't know why but she felt that this book is supposed to help her believe more and by me pointing out the flaws, it is offending her. I pointed out that if she reads this and then we talk about it later afterwards then what is the difference? Does anyone have any experience with this? I really need some help with this if anyone has any advice. I'm not trying to deconvert her or anything, just trying to engage her in an intellectual conversation.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2014, 12:46 PM
RE: Apologetics with a believing wife