Apparently Gawd Is Smiting Me...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
06-03-2014, 09:22 PM
Apparently Gawd Is Smiting Me...
I am 37 years old, and have struggled with progressively degenerative breathing problems most of my life. As a teen I was diagnosed with asthma. When I got to college it had gotten bad enough that I had to get a nebulizer and do albuterol treatments several times a day, in addition to carrying a rescue inhaler. About five years ago, my breathing got even worse, and was then diagnosed with early stage COPD. I was a welder for a number of years, so my issues were ascribed to my career choice. Now I have full-fledged emphysema. I am getting put on oxygen tomorrow.

Anyhow, during a blood test, my doctor tested me for a genetic disorder called Alpha One Antitrypsin Deficiency. I tested positive, having both genetic markers for this hereditary disease (which used to be referred to as Genetic or Hereditary Emphysema).

My first impulse was to alert my family members, since many of my cousins have small children (being a father of 3, I know how imperative it is to protect the health of our children). When I called my aunt to tell her she needed to spread the word so her daughters could get checked, she said it wasn't necessary. Her daughters were fine, according to her, and I was merely being punished by God for leading the life of a heathen. She spouted scripture at me, about how those who turn their backs on the lord are to be smited...

My five year old son has since tested positive for this disorder. So what exactly is gawd punishing this preschooler for?

So, it turns out that this disorder is prevalent in Irish ancestry, which I have a lot of. Maybe gawd is punishing the people of the Emerald Isle?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes retroviral's post
06-03-2014, 10:16 PM
RE: Apparently Gawd Is Smiting Me...