Are there any scientists or engineers here?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-04-2016, 03:33 PM
Are there any scientists or engineers here?
I'd really like to be a scientist or engineer someday. I'm wondering what it's like and what I'll need to know or remember. Do you have any advice that would help me out?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
16-04-2016, 03:39 PM
RE: Are there any scientists or engineers here?
(16-04-2016 03:33 PM)CosmicRaven Wrote:  I'd really like to be a scientist or engineer someday. I'm wondering what it's like and what I'll need to know or remember. Do you have any advice that would help me out?

There are most definitely scientists and engineers here. I'm presently majoring in a science, and the best advice I can give you is to be A MINIMUM of one, preferably two classes ahead of the course prerequisites in mathematics.

Leave your science learning to understanding concepts and not math.
16-04-2016, 03:52 PM
I work in engineering and with engineers, but I am not an engineer myself.

For engineering you need math. Lots and lots of math. Beyond that, it all depends on what kind of engineering. Chemical engineering is very different from structural or mechanical engineering.

Help for the living. Hope for the dead. ~ R.G. Ingersoll

Freedom offers opportunity. Opportunity confers responsibility. Responsibility to use the freedom we enjoy wisely, honestly and humanely. ~ Noam Chomsky
16-04-2016, 03:58 PM
Loosely I'm a Computer Media Scientist. A fancy way of saying I can animate and draw plus I know the science that goes into fooling the senses. I don't call myself a Scientist just an artist. Unforcantly for me it a great love of mine just not a paying one. So I work as a locksmith.

Don't Live each day like it's your last. Live each day like you have 541 days after that one where every choice you make will have lasting implications to you and the world around you. ~ Tim Minchin
16-04-2016, 04:00 PM