Aristotle's Four Causes

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-12-2016, 11:38 PM
Aristotle's Four Causes
So now they are coming at me with "Aristotle's Four Causes" which I never heard of until now. (Yes, I studied Aristotle in college.) Correct me if I'm wrong but I think Aristotle's Four Causes are bullshit. Your opinion?

Sapere aude
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 01:22 AM
RE: Aristotle's Four Causes
Not bullshit ... just old.

To save me some typing, the four are:
wikipedia Wrote:Matter: a change or movement's material "cause", is the aspect of the change or movement which is determined by the material that composes the moving or changing things. For a table, that might be wood; for a statue, that might be bronze or marble.
Form: a change or movement's formal "cause", is a change or movement caused by the arrangement, shape or appearance of the thing changing or moving. Aristotle says for example that the ratio 2:1, and number in general, is the cause of the octave.
Agent: a change or movement's efficient or moving "cause", consists of things apart from the thing being changed or moved, which interact so as to be an agency of the change or movement. For example, the efficient cause of a table is a carpenter, or a person working as one, and according to Aristotle the efficient cause of a boy is a father.
End or purpose: a change or movement's final "cause", is that for the sake of which a thing is what it is. For a seed, it might be an adult plant. For a sailboat, it might be sailing. For a ball at the top of a ramp, it might be coming to rest at the bottom.

The word 'cause' is better translated as 'explanation' i.e. the 4 whys.

Since Darwin's pulling of the rug from under humanity's feet, the favoured terms for 'why' have become to be proximate ("how come?") and ultimate ("what for?").