Astronomy as a path to atheism

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-01-2014, 12:35 PM (This post was last modified: 28-01-2014 02:55 PM by Rogue Jew.)
Astronomy as a path to atheism
I am not sure if this has been discussed (as I am a newbie here), but given that Astronomy fascination was my most significant route to free thought, I wonder that if could be or might have been the case for others.

Essentially, in studying astronomy, you may come to realize just how tremendous our universe is, let alone our own galaxy. We can't even explore the opposite ends of our own galaxy at 10 times the speed of light! Furthermore, realizing the enormity of our galaxy and universe will put into perspective just how small and insignificant our entire planet is (i.e. Carl Sagan's Pale Blue Dot). It has also been theorized as part of study, that there might be billions of Earth-like planets in just our own galaxy alone. I would not be able to comprehend how many might then be in the Universe.

To conclude on my point: How can someone possible believe in any of our religious texts or gods, when realizing our planet is so incredibly microscopic in all of existence? And then to have the ignorance to think that IF there was a deity that created this ridiculously tremendous universe, how could that deity be so incredibly interested in such specific activities of just one species on one tiny blue piece of dust?

Thoughts on this?

(various typos corrected)
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 7 users Like Rogue Jew's post
28-01-2014, 12:38 PM
RE: Astronomy as a path to atheism
I can relate to what you are saying. As a child, the more I learned about universe in which I lived, the more I questioned my force-fed faith. It wasn't the only reason but it certainly helped me to see behind the curtain.
[+] 2 users Like devilsadvoc8's post
28-01-2014, 02:46 PM (This post was last modified: 28-01-2014 02:52 PM by Chas.)