Atheism in the world

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
12-02-2014, 09:08 PM
Atheism in the world
If this subject has already been approached, I apologise, but I'm very curious to know the acceptance of atheism in cultures across the world. In England a land of historical religious turmoil, atheism has become the widely accepted norm, at least not politically (I exclude Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland due to cultural differences, because I have no personal experience in the religious demographics in these areas, [especially in Northern Ireland though I might be stereotyping!] ) people who are devoutly religious are considered the minority. Unlike the Americas particularly the United States where atheists are continually seen as the most distasteful of people. Of course using the U.S as a scape goat for religious prejudice is a gross act of ignorance considering other countries. But I'm assuming most of my audience is not in Saudi Arabia, or North Korea. My question is, after all that waffle, what country do you live in and how accepted is it to be an atheist, and what prejudices do you accept as norm to choose to be an atheist.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
12-02-2014, 09:37 PM
RE: Atheism in the world
I live in Canada and over here we usually see people as more accepting in comparison to other places, namely the middle east, or for general for that matter. What would define accepting though? I'm guessing the prejudices of religion is universal, especially when its the same religion, so this cannot be avoided anywhere you go. The severity however is a different issue. Canada is home to tons of cultures and views, and so I guess it causes the people to become more accepting to the environment, just to adapt.