Atheist and career

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
23-06-2012, 11:41 AM
Atheist and career
I'm sure this has been talked about many times before, (insert dead horse here), but I can't find quite what I am looking for. I don't personally know anyone else who is an atheist, which is how I found this place.

I live in rural Utah in a very mormon community. My family is not LDS and I have never believed in a god. Very few close friends and family know my lack of beliefs. Most people just assume my family has some kind of christian faith, but doesn't go to church. I am a teacher in our local school district and am worried that if people find out I am an athiest, it could have a negative effect on my career. I just finished my first year teaching, but have been encouraged by higher-ups that I should be going into administration.

I'm just not sure how to respond to the "What ward to you belong to?" and "What church do you go to?" questions. I'm not ashamed, I just don't what to deal with the backlash. Because this area is so small, something like this could be a wildfire. One more fun fact; my school district prays at the beginning of every meeting.

Any way, I'm not really sure what I should do. Just answer and deal with whatever happens? Deflect? Run away? Cry? How would you handle this situation?

"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." Albert Einstein
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
23-06-2012, 11:52 AM (This post was last modified: 23-06-2012 11:55 AM by Thomas.)
RE: Atheist and career
This is a personal decision. You are protected by civil rights laws (if you teach public school), but they can be gotten around.