Atheist discrimination

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
22-02-2010, 09:33 PM
Atheist discrimination
Hello all, and may I say that I'm a newb. A newb to this site firstly. This is my first thread, although I've replied to several others.

And also a newb to life. I'm in high school, and have only truly been an atheist for a couple years. I hear some atheists complain about discrimination for their personal beliefs. I have never meet any discrimination, but I haven't had too many chances either.

So, do you have have any stories of discrimination? How often, if ever, does it occur? It seems like it wouldn't happen too much, since it's hard to pick an atheist out of a crowd. I'm asking partly to get use to this site and socialize(No other atheists around where I live), but also because I honestly want to know what is in store for me.

I don't believe Jesus is the son of God until I see the long form birth certificate!
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
22-02-2010, 10:02 PM
RE: Atheist discrimination
Welcome, ashley! Glad to have you with us.

(22-02-2010 09:33 PM)ashley.hunt60 Wrote:  And also a newb to life. I'm in high school, and have only truly been an atheist for a couple years.

That's okay. I'm a college student myself, and I haven't been an atheist for long either.

Quote:I hear some atheists complain about discrimination for their personal beliefs. I have never meet any discrimination, but I haven't had too many chances either.

So, do you have have any stories of discrimination?

No real discrimination, but a bunch of weird looks.

Quote:How often, if ever, does it occur?

Not often, in my experience. I guess it would depend on where you are, though, and how militant the theists are there.

Quote:It seems like it wouldn't happen too much, since it's hard to pick an atheist out of a crowd.