Atheist from West Virginia

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-08-2014, 12:28 PM
Atheist from West Virginia
Hey gang, I am a long time semi-closeted atheist from southern West Virginia. I am still somewhat "in the closet" because this is definitely not the popular position in my area and I am concerned that I would almost certainly be negatively impacted by "coming out". I am a Civil Engineer and began working at a firm in Charleston, WV. I immediately noticed the majority of my coworkers were not only religious, but they were actually young earth creationists. It was obvious that I did not share their views, but this did not stop them from giving me books and explaining at length the views that I "should" agree with. My direct supervisor was a geologist and praised The Creation Museum, in Kentucky. Yes, he was a Geologist!! He actually argued that carbon dating was wrong, and that humans and dinosaurs literally walked the earth together.... I lost all respect for his scientific beliefs and eventually could not work there any longer. I asked my Mother-in-law "how do you know that god exists, what if you are wrong and the Muslims are correct?" Her answer was emphatically "Because he does!" "There is no other possibility, period!" She is more sure that god exists than she is that the sky is blue. Because the sky may be orange, but god makes you see it as blue because he can, of course. I bring up these two stories because it is so common in the area that I live. The bible belt is strangling me!!
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like calvinhebb's post
10-08-2014, 01:00 AM
RE: Atheist from West Virginia
Welcome! Dive right in and find some comfort in like minds!

I know what it's like there in the bible belt, it's why I got out. Just keep being you. I think it's good for those so entrenched in their religion to see someone who's outside of it.

Atheism is the only way to truly be free from sin.
10-08-2014, 07:57 AM