Awkward situations

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-10-2013, 04:23 PM
Awkward situations
Hey. So I'm new to all of this, including forums. And this seems like a good group of people who think like me. So I'm from Texas, and I go to a school highly populated with Christians, with everyone wanting me to go to a church. I tried going to a baptist church, and it was kinda awkward for me. So I left. And after a couple months of high thinking about all of that. I stopped believing. Now I haven't told anyone and I don't really plan on it. The only person I told was my girlfriend, who is very religious and well. Y'all know how that conversation went with her. It didn't end the way I expected. Now I'm the only nonbeliever in my family… that I know of, and I'm not sure I should tell anyone. I mean after the reaction my girlfriend gave. I'm seriously scared. I don't know what to do. So if any other teens out there would like to give me advice or just share their stories with me. I would like it. It's interesting to see how others think. Also about how you handled telling others would help.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
29-10-2013, 04:34 PM
RE: Awkward situations
You don't have to tell anyone. College will be easier, I think. Until then maybe just blow off your atheist steam here and don't tell anyone who you think would be really upset by it. Being a teenager sucks, but it is also great fun. Can you find some of those "believers" who still love to do fun stuff and never actually talk about religion and hang out with them?
[+] 1 user Likes Losty's post
29-10-2013, 04:39 PM
Re: Awkward situations
I'd wait it out especially if your parents are helping pay for college. Use this forum as a way to connect with like minded people.
[+] 1 user Likes Godless Ute's post
29-10-2013, 05:16 PM
I'd make sure your girlfriend doesn't tell your family. That's your business, not hers to share.
[+] 1 user Likes Ferdinand's post
29-10-2013, 05:49 PM