Before the Big Bang

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-01-2014, 10:19 AM
Before the Big Bang
As a (relatively) new atheist, I still find myself struggling with the concept of the "first cause" argument. Recently, I have read some books that have helped me develop some understanding of the issue (especially helpful were Stephen Hawking's Brief History of Time as well as Atheist Universe -- I forget the author's name). I'm no expert on the subject and I don't pretend to be.

This morning a thought occurred to me that I'm sure has occurred to other, more talented minds in the past, so I thought I'd present it here and see if I can learn something new.

Here's my thought: Time is relative. We know that. Time depends on the observer, and two observers with two different circumstances will experience time in different ways (the twins paradox).

Now, if time is a dimension, and space-time is curved as Einstein suggests, would it follow that there is no such thing as "before" the Big Bang?

Picture it like this: If I started traveling north, I would eventually reach the North Pole. If I continued traveling in the same direction, straight ahead, I would be traveling south. Even though I had not changed direction, I would be traveling north with one step and south with the next.

Would going backward in time work the same way? I can keep going back and back and back until I reached the "temporal north pole," aka, the Big Bang, and if I continued in the same direction, I would suddenly find myself moving forward in time. The reason we cannot fathom "before the Big Bang" is that there literally IS no "before the Big Bang," just as there is no "one step further north" than the North Pole.

Thoughts?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes TwoCultSurvivor's post
14-01-2014, 10:20 AM
RE: Before the Big Bang
Maybe bang your head Really hard against the keyboard a few times to dislodge that silliness............