Bible questions...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-07-2015, 02:32 PM
Bible questions...
So I'm arguing with someone on YouTube <waits for snickering to subside and obligatory comments about this being the source of the problem> about the bible <waits for more snickering to subside>. I'm no expert, so I'm wondering if I'm just wrong about this stuff. It doesn't help much that I'm debating the points of the story (I know, I know... ask for evidence Jesus existed at all first, and then that any of the events actually happened).

I called Jesus a spiteful, racist, thief. My reasoning for this comes off a web-page though of course I went to read the bible bits myself to be sure (at least, as sure as I could be).

Let's start with spiteful. This comes from Mark 11:12-14 in which Jesus comes across a fig tree that has leaves but no fruit, being the wrong season for fruit according to Mark, and Jesus then curses the tree to death. Killing a tree for not bearing fruit out of season seems to me to be spiteful. The counter to this has been two-fold. First that the leaves indicated that there _should_ have been fruit, and second that this was some sort of set-up for Mark 13:28-31 which talks about a fig tree as a parable (fig trees apparently representing Israel). However this second fig tree isn't withered or cursed from what I can tell, it's just before summer, part of spring. That or young. Or am I way off here?
(His link was: http://www.gotquestions.org/curse-fig-tree.html )