Bigfoot Genetics Paper Hoax

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
12-02-2013, 11:33 PM
Bigfoot Genetics Paper Hoax
I know we already have a couple of threads on Bigfoot, but I felt this needed it's own thread. I've had a passing interest in Bigfoot just like all inquisitive people. I've always held the belief that the creature did not exist. Now that I am studying primatology and have looked at the questionable evidence, I've never been so certain. In late November of last year, I first posted in this thread about a skeptical article that questioned the claim of Dr. Melba Ketchum, a Texas veterinarian-turned-geneticist, that she had conducted a 5 year study on the Bigfoot genome and had plans of publishing it in a peer-reviewed journal. I've been following the developments of this story over the last couple of months on my blog because I absolutely loath pseudoscience. Various sources reported that she may have cooked the hoax up because she was deep in debt due to her failing business, which had a grade of F with the BBB. She apparently has a website selling Bigfoot paraphernalia, so proving its existence would really allow her to rake in the cash.

Ketchum disappeared from the internet spotlight for about a month. I figured she realized people were catching on to her ruse, so she remained incognito to avoid being labeled a hoaxer in the news. Well, I was wrong. She posted a Facebook comment yesterday telling everyone to "Buckle up!" I predicted on my blog that she would most likely publish the information on the internet because there is no way that a respectable science journal would publish a study based on such questionable evidence--all supposed Bigfoot hair and skin samples were sent to her by "independent" field researchers. It turns out my prediction was 100% right. A Bigfoot blog I follow just announced the article would be published in the online Denovo Scientific Journal .