Bikers on The Down Low.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
25-06-2015, 05:38 AM
Bikers on The Down Low.
No. This isn't about closet cases. We'll do that thread another time.

This is about something else.

If you ride a motorcycle - you've seen this. If not, you may have or may not have noticed.

I started riding street motorcycles, 35 years ago. It was a different world then - and there simply wasn't the large scale acceptance - or indeed the numbers of motorcycles you see on the road now.

Back then - when you saw a motorcycle going the other way - especially if you I.D.ed it as the same as the brand you were riding - you waved. (Yes - those of us who are real gearheads can tell the make, model, and sometimes even the year of another motorcycle - even at a closure rate of 200 kph.)

You waved, like you'd wave at a friend seen at a distance.

In the last few years I've noticed a change. The wave is no longer an arm up wave. It's this lackadaisical flailing maneuver. Arm sort of limply held off at the side - totally non-committal.

I've decided it's one of two things.

1. They're exhausted from waving at all the other bikes, and it's simply the best they can manage.

2. They're "too cool for school" - and don't want to appear over-anxious to get your approving wave back.

Either way -- I say fuck 'em.

I'll wave at people I know - and pretty girls.

I'm not a "down low" kinda guy.

The difference between prayer and masturbation - is when a guy is through masturbating - he has something to show for his efforts.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes onlinebiker's post
25-06-2015, 05:59 AM
RE: Bikers on The Down Low.
Here in Ireland we don't wave. We give the 'bikers nod', a little nod of the head as you go past. Even though I'm only on my 'it's gets me from A to B' 125 cc, I get the nod from most bikers that pass by.

“The first duty of a man is to think for himself” ― José Martí
25-06-2015, 06:09 AM