Black Egyptians

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-08-2012, 09:19 AM
Black Egyptians
Right now Youtube is flooded with comments on Black Egyptians (and i think they mean the really dark brown close to black).

On how the western world won´t admit that black africans coulæd build a great empire.

So i got to ask is there any peer reviewed scientific facts that support this notion that the Ancient Egyptians where Black or do they dismiss it?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2012, 09:33 AM
RE: Black Egyptians
(08-08-2012 09:19 AM)Erikjust Wrote:  So i got to ask is there any peer reviewed scientific facts that support this notion that the Ancient Egyptians where Black or do they dismiss it?

As a layman, my understanding is this: Egyptians were lighter-skinned than their more southerly African kin. Mainly, this was due to the Mediterranean... which was a hugely-populated area of trade and migration, with few enclosed areas for genetic isolation.

Egypt's closest southerly neighbours were the Nubians, who were much darker in skin colour. From memory, Nubian influences (which included Pharaohs) appeared as darker-skinned painted wall carvings.

The bigger point, really, is who fucking cares (apart from mouth-breathing, knuckle-dragging racist fucks)?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 2 users Like Red Celt's post
08-08-2012, 09:39 AM
I've, well since I was old enough to think logically (although some say that was when I was 5 lol--although probably teenage years give or take), have assumed that in Egypt they had a combination of light-tan like appearing to the darkest "black" as we view it color skin. But then as Red Celt mentioned about the wall carvings, I remember seeing different color people and gods, so I figure they had a variation within, or at least had dealings with people of different skin tones.