Borderline Homeless

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-06-2013, 01:06 AM
Borderline Homeless
Hey,

My life has been a long series of letdowns, leading up to my current predicament. My parents who reluctantly have me living with them already at the age of 31 are going to have me live in the garage soon. I have plenty of valuable skills. I am a very good tutor of science and math subjects for one, but I don't have a BS and my last university is holding my transcripts hostage over a petty debt.

I'm a veteran, but I have little to no resources to turn to where I'm at. I'm trying to get something going for a homeless veteran program that's 45 minutes away, (4 hours by bus since I don't own a vehicle), but I won't know if I qualify for a few weeks now. I've been spending my time posting fliers and business cards for my tutoring services, but so far no bites.

What I want to ask is, what bottom of the food chain advice might any of you have to offer? When you have nothing, what can you still get for yourself if pushed to the breaking point? I know how to use one phone app to get $5 within a week, but not much more that's reliable than that. Well, digging for recyclables is useful too, but not practical for the amount of energy and time it takes.

What type of work would you go to if you had to start over? What's your contingency plan for when life turns shitty? Thanks in advance for the help.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
27-06-2013, 08:20 AM
RE: Borderline Homeless
(27-06-2013 01:06 AM)Philosophist Wrote:  Hey,

My life has been a long series of letdowns, leading up to my current predicament. My parents who reluctantly have me living with them already at the age of 31 are going to have me live in the garage soon. I have plenty of valuable skills. I am a very good tutor of science and math subjects for one, but I don't have a BS and my last university is holding my transcripts hostage over a petty debt.