Calling all physics experts

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-05-2012, 07:11 AM
Calling all physics experts
Hello, i'm a layman who loves science and seeks to understand something better. The Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle. I know the most common interpretation is the Copenhagen Interpretation, but i don't really understand the full scope of what is meant by the different interpretations and which one is held in the highest scientific regard or looks most promising going forward. What i really would love to know, is if causality breaks down at these minute levels. I've had people tell me i'm an ignoramus and to look at De Broglie-Bohm theory when i don't really have the tools to understand even a fraction of it. If there's any person well versed in this stuff that could give an overview in terms a person who doesn't have a degree in advanced mathematics would understand, it would be much appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like MrEchidna's post
24-05-2012, 09:23 AM
RE: Calling all physics experts
People calling you an ignoramus? Ask them to explain the theory in layman terms. They are ignoramuses themselves if they are unable to. If one is unable to explain a theory in simple terms, one does not fully comprehend the theory itself.

The Copenhagen Interpretation of quantum mechanics is one of the earliest and most commonly known interpretations of quantum mechanics. To understand why causality breaks down at quantum levels, we have to look at The Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle.

According to the uncertainty principle, it is impossible to simultaneously determine, precisely, certain pairs of physical properties of a particle. Example of pairs of physical properties are the position and momentum of the particle, and the energy and time of the particle. So, the more I am able to precisely find the position of a particle, the less precisely I am able to find its momentum.