Can God even be defined?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
23-04-2014, 06:56 PM
Can God even be defined?
Hello everyone. I'm new to atheist message boards, but I started looking for them after I recently found myself spending some time trying to organize and formalize my thoughts on why I am anti-Theist. I am still at the stage where I think I see the general outline of what the forest looks like, but I'm still trying to map out all the individual trees. I suppose I should technically be classified as a militant agnostic, as I don't believe it is possible to prove the non-existence of any godlike entity outside the known universe, but I do believe that all proposed deities to date either fail to prove their existence beyond reasonable doubt or they are so generic as to be irrelevant / meaningless.

Reading the theist / atheist debates that happen on the internet make my head hurt. They read like the verbal equivalent of trying to wrestle jello. Every time I think there is some sort of agreement being reached on the definition of the terms being used and the parameters of the discussion the arguments instead slide off in some other direction or rephrases the definitions or changes the parameters. Every discussion seems to consist of circular arguments or reasoning, changing the parameters, and rephrasing old material as new jargon to make it sound insightful. It just seems a futile exercise in frustration.

Here is my current thinking on the topic. I suppose the starting point for all roads of thought has to be the definition of "god". According to the dictionary, a definition is an exact statement or description of the nature, scope, or meaning of something. And the dictionary definition of god is: In Christianity and other monotheistic religions, the creator and ruler of the universe and source of all moral authority; the supreme being. In certain other religions, a superhuman being or spirit worshiped as having power over nature or human fortunes; a deity.