Can I Refuse Bible Tracts from Customers?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
29-03-2015, 06:48 AM
I've been working at McDonalds since April 2010. I usually take orders on front counter or in the drive-through. Every few weeks or so, I get a customer who insists I take a bible tract. I swear they act like they're giving me a ten dollar tip or something. >/ So for four years, I reluctantly accepted the tract with a curt "thanks, I guess" and ripped it to shreds as soon as the customer's back is turned.

Having been viciously bullied to the point of contemplating suicide by evangelical Christians as a kid (that's another story for another thread), I have issues with this sort of thing. My dad says I'm handed tracts because I'm a 'captive audience'. Well, I really want to say "no thank you" to proselytizing Christians and get back to my job before I relive things Sigmund Freud wouldn't touch with a ten-foot pole. But I don't know what my legal rights are. Can I politely decline a tract without getting fired?

Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like Sloane's post
29-03-2015, 06:57 AM
RE: Can I Refuse Bible Tracts from Customers?
IMHO.....
Since it is a a business environment, what does your boss/manager say about it? I would ask them first.
But until then, I would keep doing what you're doing. Might not be a great situation to be in, but again, it's a work environment, so I'd say you're being professional about it. Take the tract, say thanks, move on to the next customer. If at any point the person wants to talk to you about it, you can remind them you don't have the time because you have a job to do. If they then catch you when you leave work to talk to you about it, then you can let your real opinions be known. Wink

[Image: fdyq20.jpg]
[+] 2 users Like LostLocke's post
29-03-2015, 07:13 AM
I agree with LostLocke. Take the stupid things and toss them in the trash.