Children of Freethinking Parents
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-04-2012, 10:02 PM
Children of Freethinking Parents
Hi. I am new to TTA, but not to atheism. In short, my journey to an atheist position has been a long, slow, progressive one where I began as a teenage agnostic, stumbled through a 'spiritual/force in the universe' phase, back to agnosticism, and slowly to atheist.

My husband is also an atheist and has been, all his life.

We have been raising our 3 children (all under 8) without religion. It's been fairly easy in that we live a couple states away from my religious extended family, and my in-laws haven't mentioned religion since our wedding 13 years ago when their friends (Korean Methodists) asked why there wasn't more "religion" in our ceremony. (Married in an historic farmhouse by a UU minister, we used one biblical reading - Corinthians 13, 4-7 & 13. No mention of god - only love. Other readings were a Native American 'blessing' and various readings from classic literature and vows we wrote.) I was (and remain) the only person in my huge extended family not to be married 'in the church' but members in my family were too polite to say anything about it. Smile

So although we have been able to sidestep church/religious events, our eldest son is starting to hear stuff from peers at at school - none of which we've had to address too seriously. But I know more is coming and we will have to tackle some questions, head-on.