Christianity and Other Religions in Post-Communist Countries

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-11-2011, 04:12 PM
Christianity and Other Religions in Post-Communist Countries
Zatamon's recent post about his young years in Hungary, as well as the debate about Communism as a religion inspired me to post a summary of my observation on the rise of religions in the post-Communist countries.

I am not an expert on the subject, and I was only 5 years old when the USSR stopped existing. So please forgive me if I misrepresent some facts, or if my thoughts are too immature.

I am a Latvian of Russian ancestry. As I said, my experience of living in a Communist country is limited to my early childhood. But a culture does not just disappear in a second; I grew up reading Soviet books and magazines, watching Soviet movies, attending a school established in Soviet times, listening to teachers educated in Soviet times. So I consider myself rather a Soviet child and not really unfamiliar to the Soviet culture.

In the USSR, religion as such was never actually banned, but has always been oppressed a lot. Since Marx famously stated in 1843 that religion is "the heart of a heartless world" and "the opium of the people", the war between the Communists and religion was officially claimed. In the post-Revolutionary times, many priests were arrested, icons and other relics destroyed, churches turned into stables. The "progressive" Soviet writers were eager in bashing religion. "God" could only be written in lowercase. Religion was derided and made fun of in the literature and media; religious people were mostly pictured as funny, miserable losers, if not evil and soulless criminals.

Religion, diligently and zealously propagated before, was now one of the scapegoats of the "old times", so fun and easy to beat up.

No wonder a reaction was soon to follow the demolition of the Berlin Wall.