College Graduates?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-06-2015, 10:19 PM
College Graduates?
I am curious as to which class in college was the most difficult for those of you whom graduated with a science, engineering, or mathematics degree. I am an engineering major and think most of them are difficult (but fun!) The fact that almost everything in nature can be formulated into a mathematical representation never ceases to amaze me.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
17-06-2015, 12:13 PM
RE: College Graduates?
Two I found difficult were Numerical Analysis and some type of Advanced Geometry course. They weren't difficult as such, but the lecturers were terrible. The first had absolutely terrible presentation skills, the second spoke terrible English. When I looked at NA a few years later, I thought "How on earth did I have problems with this?"

My background is mathematical statistics. I've often heard that stats was the most difficult, particularly for non-STEM students e.g. psychology, sociology. I was once asked by a friend to help a non-science student who was having trouble with the Wilkinson non-parametric test. If you know this test, you'd ask "How can anyone have trouble with this? It's about the simplest test there is." I asked to look at her notes. The lecturer had turned something simple into something torturous. ***I*** didn't understand it. And she wasn't the only one. I used to tutor non-STEM students in stats (hey, they pay) and heard the same story again and again. Stats is the worst taught subject in Arts/Humanities.

And welcome to the forum, Timj.
17-06-2015, 12:19 PM
The most difficult classes for me were the ones I was the least interested in, because it took more effort to get myself to learn the material. (most of the introductory courses for instance that were not related to geology and primarily because they cover so many disparate topics in a single semester).