Concussions

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-01-2016, 03:23 PM
Concussions
My husband used to play football back in the day. He had two concussions that he's aware of and it bothers him that he was told to shake it off and get back in there and play. This was just before some of the guys were as huge as they are now although he did play against "The Refrigerator" William Parry, who was kinda the first big huge football player that came along. Hubby took a few hits from him. Said it hurt. Like he'd been hit by a damn refrigerator.

Anyway, Donald Trump is calling all this concussion controversy a result of our country becoming more soft and I guess not manning up....or something like that. Perhaps he needs to be tackled a few times and roughed up by one of those sissy linebackers. Dodgy

I'm not an expert on stuff like this but it seems to me that the human skull is the same thickness it's been for thousands of years but football players are so much bigger and being hit in the head has got to cause more trauma. I'm not sure about other sports like Australian football, (those guys are crazy!) but damn, when I see these guys play sometimes I don't know how they mentally function after being hit so hard.

Thoughts?

Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors.... on Donald J. Trump:

He is deformed, crooked, old, and sere,
Ill-fac’d, worse bodied, shapeless every where;
Vicious, ungentle, foolish, blunt, unkind,
Stigmatical in making, worse in mind.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like dancefortwo's post
16-01-2016, 03:32 PM
RE: Concussions
I don't like contact sports at all for this and other reasons. I simply disapprove of gladiator sports, they're barbaric.

[Image: dnw9krH.jpg?4]
[+] 1 user Likes Heatheness's post
16-01-2016, 03:33 PM
Tradition is usually the refuge for behavior that's conclusively proven to be dangerous, but continued.