DNA and RNA

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-03-2012, 07:06 PM
DNA and RNA
As I understand it, DNA has four bases: Thymine, Guanine, Cytosine and Adenine. Each base has its own partner, Adenine binds with Thymine and Cytosine binds with Guanine...right so far?

Now RNA has four bases as well except instead of Thymine it has Uracil. What puzzles me is that I though Uracil was a "mutation" of sorts of Thymine which can still bind with Adenine..right?

So does RNA have the same bases as DNA or can it have all five if we are to include Uracil as a base OR is Uracil merely an "alternative" so to speak to Thymine?

I am new to this molecular biology so if I sound like a total twat, then that is why. Tongue

Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return.
To obtain, something of equal value must be lost.
That is Alchemy's first law of Equivalent Exchange.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
30-03-2012, 07:39 PM
RE: DNA and RNA
(30-03-2012 07:06 PM)Dragon-Wolf Wrote:  As I understand it, DNA has four bases: Thymine, Guanine, Cytosine and Adenine. Each base has its own partner, Adenine binds with Thymine and Cytosine binds with Guanine...right so far?

Now RNA has four bases as well except instead of Thymine it has Uracil. What puzzles me is that I though Uracil was a "mutation" of sorts of Thymine which can still bind with Adenine..right?

So does RNA have the same bases as DNA or can it have all five if we are to include Uracil as a base OR is Uracil merely an "alternative" so to speak to Thymine?

I am new to this molecular biology so if I sound like a total twat, then that is why. Tongue
I am in school for nursing, only in my first semester. We didn't go to in depth because my teacher is all about god did it bullshit. I do remember something similar to this from the past. I got this from Wikipedia.