Dear TTA Forum-goers from the USA, Can you help me?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-06-2012, 11:04 AM
Question Dear TTA Forum-goers from the USA, Can you help me?
Hi all!
This is my first thread/post here and right away I'm asking for help. How needy of me! :)
I don't really have any friends I could ask so I just figured this might be the right place to ask my question and signed up.

Well, here's the deal:
I'm studying at Helsinki University in Finland and I'm planning on being an exchange student in the US after my BS is done. Here's a list of the possible universities available for me to apply to:
  • The University of Georgia
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Virginia Tech
  • University of Idaho
  • Iowa State University
  • University of Kentucky
  • Louisiana State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Clemson University
  • West Virginia University
  • University of Wyoming
Now the question;
I'm an atheist and I've been listening to a lot of skeptic/atheist podcasts lately and now I'm a bit scared! :D Do you think my atheism could become a problem during my stay in the US if I end up in a place that was very religious...? I'm not very good with conflict and/or debates and I'd like to avoid places that are somewhat hostile to free-thinkers. Do you think I should avoid any of the schools/places above because of this? Should I even be worried about this or have I just listened to too many atheist podcasts..?

Also if you have any recommendations about any of the schools or states, feel free to give them to me :)
Any information that could help me shorten the list is more than welcome :D

Thanks in advance! <3 Maybe I can even make some new friends before my trip! :)
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
28-06-2012, 04:49 PM
RE: Dear TTA Forum-goers from the USA, Can you help me?
Where'd that list come from? What's your field of study?