Death

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-05-2012, 07:51 PM
Death
Sorry for the dramatic title, but it's appropriate.

Memorial Day got me thinking about my eventual headstone. As an Army vet, I'll likely end up buried in a Veteran's Cemetary, so I started thinking about what I want on that headstone...

I retired my former blog, starting anew on Wordpress:

http://seanasbury.wordpress.com/2012/05/...houghts-4/

Comments/feedback always welcome Smile

Cheers, Sean

"Like" my Facebook page
Brain Droppings Blog
[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT16Rq3dAcHhqiAsPC5xUC...oR0pEpxQZw]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
30-05-2012, 08:21 PM
RE: Death
I once walked through a very old cemetery. As I looked at the headstones it struck me as quite silly. These people are dead. They have no idea who I am, or that I'm here, or if anyone is reading their meaningless names carved into a rock. What a waste of effort keeping the place up. I certainly don't want to be a burden on the living after I'm dead.

A Green burial for me. No headstone. Just me and the worms. Eat me baby. I'm just so tasty.

The old gods are dead, let's invent some new ones before something really bad happens.
Find all posts by this user
30-05-2012, 08:30 PM
I don't feel a need to prove to future generations that I was here. Cremate me and if possible, take me back to the Outer Banks and scatter my ashes.

I don't want one day for my kids to feel guilty that they haven't been to my grave in however long. I don't make a point to visit graves...I do have a picture of one grandfather's headstone that is etched with his favorite saying "You Better Believe It".

This is a pic from the internet, too lazy to go scan mine right now.

I'm not anti-social. I'm pro-solitude. Sleepy
[+] 1 user Likes Anjele's post
30-05-2012, 08:34 PM
Too bad this can't be your headstone emblem...
[Image: davinci1.jpg]