Deus vult?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-01-2017, 02:03 PM
Deus vult?
(wasn't sure whether to put this in this section here or the conspiracy section... )

So it isn't a secret that I am playing video games a lot. Therefore I am on steam, origin, curse, etc. All the nice things.

Occasionally I play a game called The Secret World. That game is full of puzzles and riddles and so on. Just my thing. A lot of thinking (unless you look up guides which I generally don't because I like a challenge).
In this game, when you start, you choose a faction. One of the factions is the Templars and that is the faction I play.
Now on steam itself, I am a noob. I don't really know how to use that platform apart from buying more games and chat with people.

Today I log on to Steam and see a group invitation (much like for Facebook for example). And I see the group is called Templars so I figure, hey this guy, who invited me, must be playing The Secret World too. How fun right? Let's go ahead and play it together.
So I look around that group and click a bit (assuming I will find stuff about the game) and find that it is just full of anti muslim hate speech and and nutjobs posting "Deus Vult".
I found out that "Deus vult" is latin for "God's wish" so I am wtf-ing like crazy at that point.
I wasn't aware that I know religious nutjobs.
Well the guy that invited me is from a gaming community that I have joined a few months ago. In that community we have a very important rule. Since we are all about gaming and having fun (and also 3000 people big) we do not ever talk politics or religion, to avoid drama and hurt feelings. I agree very much with this rule to be honest because it creates a space where all that matters is gaming, which is exactly what I joined for. So guess how surprised I was.

Now I don't usually assume things so I went ahead and asked the guy. You know maybe he has been hacked or whatever.
Here is the log of the - very short - conversation: