Diamond Manufacture.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-01-2012, 01:49 PM
Diamond Manufacture.
Hey guys, its been already done, the manufacture of diamonds in a lab.
Diamonds have very unique chemical and physical properties that could
potentially bring about a 2nd industrial revolution.
[See Novasceince Now - Diamond Factory]
What would happen if diamonds were mass-produced economically
and politically speaking?
I'm thinking that their price would be lowered but that's as far as i can go
since i have no background economic thinking, i can come up with some
hypothesis but they would be all baseless assumptions on my part.
Anyone here with a background or knowledge in economics or politics care to
enlighten me?
Would the political/economical field try to hinder this breakthrough for how it
can potentially diminish the diamond market?
Or would the mass production of diamonds be a good breakthrough in these respects?

"Yeah, good idea. Make them buy your invisible apple. Insist that they do. Market it properly and don't stop until they pay for it." -Malleus
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2012, 01:55 PM
RE: Diamond Manufacture.
I thought they made artificial diamonds a while ago?

Behold the power of the force!
[Image: fgYtjtY.gif]
11-01-2012, 01:58 PM
(11-01-2012 01:55 PM)FSM_scot Wrote:  I thought they made artificial diamonds a while ago?

yeah quite a while, im talking about mass production

"Yeah, good idea. Make them buy your invisible apple. Insist that they do. Market it properly and don't stop until they pay for it." -Malleus
11-01-2012, 02:06 PM
(11-01-2012 01:58 PM)Jackrabbit Wrote:  yeah quite a while, im talking about mass production

Ah right.

Apart from use in drills and jewellery, I don't really know what other uses you get for diamonds. Its still a pretty amazing substance though.

Behold the power of the force!
[Image: fgYtjtY.gif]
11-01-2012, 02:31 PM