Disability and the Modern World

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-08-2013, 10:54 AM

May I just ask one simple question: What do sighted people think I do all day? Im honestly curious as what sighted people think my life consist of, because they always seem genuinely surprised that i do all the perfectly ordinary things. Why the so much surprise? Other than not having sight I'm your average anime loving, bookworm, shopacholic. Here are a list of ludicrous questions I get on a daily basis.

How come you don't bump into stuff like on tv? (Really people?)

How do you clean your house?

How did you cook all this without burning yourself?

How do use a phone?

How are you using a computer? (I've had many people online insist that blind people can't use a computer)

How do you paint? (I'm an artist)

What do you mean watch tv?

What do you mean  you like reading? 

How did you get your clothes to match?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
30-08-2013, 02:31 PM (This post was last modified: 30-08-2013 03:04 PM by Luminon.)
RE: Disability and the Modern World
Good question. Somewhere I heard that a blind person can get so skilled at doing things, that he can do almost anything, except driving a car. But I understand you're new at this.
And I am terrified that I'll say something insensitive and all I can think of are insensitive jokes. I've used some very black humor through difficult times in my life and it helped me to hit the rock bottom and start climbing up. Black... humor. See? I'm really not doing this on purpose. I've got myself a dirty, dirty mind.

OK, so about you... I suppose you use some workarounds that most people would never think of and then you use lots of common sense - like remembering where everything is or having someone to help, mark clothes for you and stuff. I'd bet there are many good-willed Christians in your area to help you out. [sarcasm]