Discrimination at School?!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
20-07-2015, 01:05 PM
Discrimination at School?!
Hi everyone,
I am a High School student in England, and as probably many of you know, here since a few years ago, RE became a compulsory subject. I don't know if it's the case at other schools, but in our school, (which is a "Catholic School") on RE lessons, you pretty much ONLY learn about Catholic things. Like, seriously... there are about 2 pages about not believing in God/supernatural things in the whole GCSE book (which is about 80-100 pages...) And the whole year, I have to sit there on lessons, and learn about the things they force you to learn about. This is seriously discriminative against MANY people including Atheists or people who has something other religion. And I am supposed to get a minimum grade C of the subject. I am forced to learn the Bible stories and "their meanings" (which are pretty much standard real life things/common sense). Is there anything to do with this? To not be forced to study RE (or at least not be forced to study a religion.) A way to somehow not be forced to learn about something nonsense... I really feel like that the UK government made it extremely difficult for all the Atheists that they HAVE TO learn about things that doesn't even exist... Like; come on... Even the full Christian nation, the Americans accepted homosexuality, and the UK can't accept not believing in something?! This is ridiculous... So basically, my question is highlighted in bold above, hope someone can advise me something.

Thanks for help is advance! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
20-07-2015, 01:58 PM
RE: Discrimination at School?!
Welcome, TBA, to TTA!

You're in school to learn. Not everything they teach you will be true, especially on "fuzzy" subjects like theology. One of the most important tools you can develop as a student is how to screen out bullshit (bollocks, as I think you Brits say).