Dissecting Pantheism/Panentheism

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 3 Average
24-08-2013, 07:54 PM
Dissecting Pantheism/Panentheism
I am new to these topics and have just begun researching them. My question is what is your thoughts on the two and what points would you debate about each?

Your citizen Atheist
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
24-08-2013, 08:28 PM
RE: Dissecting Pantheism/Panentheism
There's some pretty foundational things I've never had explained to me coherently by a pantheist.

1. What is the nature of the divine? (corollary: can a meaningful distinction be made between pantheism and panentheism?)
2. Does it interact in non-natural* ways?
3. Is the interaction - if any - of human interest? That is, is prayer effective, or are there prophets?

To 1 the answer may well be "we don't understand it"; if so we can equally well say we do not understand the universe without then calling it god because we don't understand it. In any case I have yet to hear a positive, definite, coherent answer. If you can't explain something then why suppose it.

If you get 'no' for 3 (and implicitly then 2), then there is no way for the belief to inform human actions and no way for the belief to affect human inquiry. A divinity inextricably present in everything - such that all is then inseparable from its presence - is not actually of any interest. Since, then, we are necessarily included in it, it consequently has no bearing on our human attempts at understanding. It's not like we've ever yet had to throw in the towel when it comes to scientific, naturalistic explanations for the universe around us. Which makes it essentially a rephrased deism, in that cosmogeny is the only sphere in which it might be of any relevance - and even then, so what?.

If you get a 'yes' for 3, then what are the examples? Why are all such claims extraordinarily tenuous and so easily dismissed?