Do we as atheists REALLY have any basis for morals?

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
06-12-2014, 04:18 PM
Do we as atheists REALLY have any basis for morals?
I know what you are thinking, this guy isn't an atheist, he's some sort of christian troll come to pretend to be an atheist... This has been answered so many times not this old chestnut... or here we go again, I assure you, this should hopefully be a different can of worms, I'm currently a physics and philosophy student and I've been in deep thought about the subject. I'm not a christian telling you morals exist and they don't make sense without God, I'm saying they don't exist, let's reject them entirely, let us reject humanism as merely the blind acceptance of christian values (colloquial christian values, not what is exactly written in the bible) after one renounces it's God

Throughout atheist literature there's a worrying tendency to hand wave to the question of secular morals, sweeping statements like "The golden rules still makes sense" or "We just know whether things are moral or not".

My worry is that all arguments for objective morality sounds very VERY similar in form to arguments for God, such as "it's immediately obvious" "We have a faculty within us that discerns it" "It's simply a priori". It seems ridiculous to me that a universe (That without God is entirely indifferent to us) has any universal moral laws within it...

This then leads to the subjective morals, but these too have a certain hypocrisy to them, if morality depends on the person, what legitimacy do you have to attempt to enforce it on the world, what reason do you have for that morality? Why not simply subjectively reject morals and live a sociopathic life where you gain conscious control over you empathy.