Dressing nice for God

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
30-04-2012, 10:30 PM
Dressing nice for God
I'm curious as to the mindset behind putting on your Sunday best for church. The obvious non-thinking response is "well I want to look my best to show some respect towards the Lord." But when you think about it, "looking good" is a completely subjective state. Arranging your hair in a manner that currently trending and wearing clothes of the modern fashion type are arbitrary ceremonies that we do between ourselves. God wouldn't care that your pants are pressed any more than he cared that you wore bell bottoms to church in the 70's.

If anything, it's the opposite of how you should go to church. Jesus embraced the humble, the poor, the needy. You should go to church looking haggard and submissive. Not wearing riches and putting on a smug expression because you're going to your cool Jesus club.

I wonder these things only because I work in a restaurant and every Sunday, old folks come to eat in their funeral attire and black folks come to eat wearing 3 foot Dr Seuss hats covered in glitter. Are they trying to get God's attention for his blessings. Making sure they can be seen from space?

"Ain't got no last words to say, yellow streak right up my spine. The gun in my mouth was real and the taste blew my mind."

"We see you cry. We turn your head. Then we slap your face. We see you try. We see you fail. Some things never change."
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
30-04-2012, 10:40 PM
RE: Dressing nice for God
In the giant Catholic church I grew up in, the fancy clothes weren't for God, they were for everyone else. The ones most concerned paraded up the center aisle to one of the front pews so the other 1000 people could take note.