Drummers and time.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-10-2015, 05:55 AM (This post was last modified: 11-10-2015 05:59 AM by Banjo.)
Drummers and time.
Time is why we are there. It matters not how fast your paradiddle is, if you cannot play a basic groove, whether it be blues, jazz rock funk etc in time, you wont work.

One must consider the metronome, or click, as a friend, not an enemy.

I seem to recall a great drummer saying he thought of the cowbell click as being Paquito de Rivera playing beside him.

A great attitude.

I am a drummer dedicated to the click track.

However I am also a percussionist who has had to play with drummers whose time was wayward. When one is playing a simple cha cha cha on the congas and is unsure where the one is, it is uncomfortable. To say the least.

I began this thread because I saw a photo of a member who plays drums.

I hope it helps. I would not do this at a drummer forum because of all the follow on questions.

Drummers need to be in time. I am sure other musicians here will or would agree.

BTW. That drummer is free to PM me and as I have loads of time I have decided to give free skype lessons. These lessons will be technique based only. But are avaliable for free to TTA members while I have time.

NOTE: Member, Tomasia uses this site to slander other individuals. He then later proclaims it a joke, but not in public.
I will call him a liar and a dog here and now.
Banjo.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Banjo's post
11-10-2015, 06:55 AM
RE: Drummers and time.
Didja hear about the drummer who practiced the rhythm method of birth control with his wife??

They had 11 kids...

nyuk nyuk nyuk....

The difference between prayer and masturbation - is when a guy is through masturbating - he has something to show for his efforts.
11-10-2015, 07:09 AM