Early stars

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-04-2012, 07:40 PM
Early stars
According to studies right after the big bang there was only hydrogen because it's the simplest element, in order to make more complicated elements like carbon stars had to form and die, stars converted hydrogen to helium and when they imploded the immense pressure and heat in the core made it a perfect place to make the first 26 elements. The other elements can only be made in supernovas, that is what I heard and read.

Now my question is, does that mean the early stars were only formed with hydrogen? I'm far from a scientist but I would think a star needs some more elements than just one to be formed. Can anyone explain this to me?

chan chan ki sikin aman
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
24-04-2012, 08:16 PM
RE: Early stars
(24-04-2012 07:40 PM)Crusher Wrote:  According to studies right after the big bang there was only hydrogen because it's the simplest element, in order to make more complicated elements like carbon stars had to form and die, stars converted hydrogen to helium and when they imploded the immense pressure and heat in the core made it a perfect place to make the first 26 elements. The other elements can only be made in supernovas, that is what I heard and read.

Now my question is, does that mean the early stars were only formed with hydrogen? I'm far from a scientist but I would think a star needs some more elements than just one to be formed. Can anyone explain this to me?
Only hydrogen is needed. It fuses under pressure to form helium.

Why do you believe other elements are necessary?

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
[+] 2 users Like Chas's post
24-04-2012, 08:31 PM (This post was last modified: 25-04-2012 04:25 AM by Bucky Ball.)