Electrician anyone?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-02-2013, 05:52 AM
Electrician anyone?
Is there an electrician in tha house?

I need a few things to discuss about my old-school house installations, the electrical ones, so if there is someone who understands a few things about electricity, grounding, nullifying, the lack of grounding, surge protection, A/C cleaning and stabilizing, I would be grateful if you were to step up. I need to ask a few things.

Thank you.

Drinking Beverage

[Image: a6505fe8.jpg]
I have a theory that the truth is never told during the nine-to-five hours.
-Hunter S. Thompson
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
09-02-2013, 12:46 PM
RE: Electrician anyone?
I'm no electrician, but I know a few things about electricity and electrical engineering.

What's your question?

"IN THRUST WE TRUST"

"We were conservative Jews and that meant we obeyed God's Commandments until His rules became a royal pain in the ass."

- Joel Chastnoff, The 188th Crybaby Brigade
10-02-2013, 08:45 AM
I live in a building from 1956. and the word "grounding" was not in their vocabulary back in those days. I have a problem with grounding, my sockets are the old ones, without grounding. My question was about nullifying the ground, or connecting the ground to the null cable. Later, I have discovered some socket that actually do have a third wire and it looks like it is a ground one.

So, let's go hypothetically now, because I will use the socket I found, but if I could not, do you know a thing or two about how to ground a socket, that has no ground wire? Of course, without redecorating the whole house and spending the money I don't have.

The old-school ceramic safety fuses have been changed and they are normal, automatic ones now, but there is no RCD switch.

-Hunter S. Thompson
10-02-2013, 12:00 PM
Connecting ground to null was common for a while. It's not as safe as having a separate null cable but it works most of the time.